FIX THE JORNEY INTO DJU

Discuss cards here.

Re: FIX THE JORNEY INTO DJU

Postby GoodlookingGamer » Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:22 am

Agreed regarding jensen, hector, saboteur and cashless' point on diyu. Mods, when can we see a reply on this issue? ^^
GoodlookingGamer
Follower
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:25 am
Cabals IGN: GoodlookingGamer

Re: FIX THE JORNEY INTO DJU

Postby dougsymon » Thu Aug 03, 2017 7:57 am

Thank you everyone for pointing this out. As has been noted a bigger problem had to be fixed and sometimes fixes bring new complications (especially in a game with the depth of Cabals). We'll be considering this complication and find the fairest way to move forward.
Join your fellow players on IRC for general chat and friendly matches:
#cabalscg
irc.quakenet.org
http://webchat.quakenet.org/?channels=cabalscg
Thread with more information about IRC channel

DM me if you'd like a game of Cabals!
User avatar
dougsymon
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2338
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:06 am
Cabals IGN: WindomEarle
CabalsCode: R5Z8YTW

Re: FIX THE JORNEY INTO DJU

Postby Buzz » Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:47 pm

I think that Saboteur & Co. have a point about Journey into Diyu.
What happened with this card after the patch is a "quick/lazy" fix to:
1. a context problem and
2. a bad definition of devices.
Let's consider that we have different types of objects in this game : locations, spells and units, each with specific sub-types.
We also have rules in this game, for example : The opponent stronghold cannot be blocked by a direct action ( spell ). Simple rule - simple implementation.
So you cannot play, let's say - Underworld Stroke , on an unit who is on the stronghold location.
What happens in the case of Journey is that:
1. The above rule is violated when TWO conditions are met ( context ) : location is stronghold AND top UNIT of discard pile is a device.
2. Devices are considered UNITS in some cases ( because they could be replaced by journey, resurrected by embalmer , returned in hand by magician etc.). But are they really ? Because you cannot remove them with spells, or move them, or deploy them on stronghold - sic!.
So the definition of devices is inconsistent, sometimes they are behaving like units - sometimes not.
First of all, there should be a clear definition of devices class, inherited from units or not - whatever the case, and there should be a specific set of rules for them.
There should not be exception rules for other cards just because they may target a device or the result of the spell could be a device.
If the devices are not units, then they are not the target of spells, as removals behave now, AND journey skips devices because they are not units so journey should be used on stronghold.
If the devices are a special class of units, make special rules for them - not for the spells or card abilities.

Thank you.
Buzz
Disciple
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 8:54 pm
Cabals IGN: OldSnake

Previous

Return to Card Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests